Dear Truett, {4 months old; child of the covenant}

The day you were born forever changed me.

I did not get an epidural when I gave birth to you. After a fast labor that found me at 8cm dilated more quickly and painlessly than I had anticipated, I made a split second decision when the Dr said it was “now or never”, and I said never. In the 2.5 hours that followed, I learned and felt a level of pain I had not known existed.

Today, my precious Truett, I just feel thankful. You didn’t know it, but your labor helped drive me closer to Jesus.

In that moment of pure agony, Jesus sustained me.

At two days old, your Dad and I rushed you to the hospital. You had choked and turned bright red and continued to make irregular breathing noises. I was terrified I was going to lose you.

In that moment of pure agony, Jesus sustained me.

And four months later, Jesus continues to sustain us in the day to day. You have received exceptional amounts of love from family and friends. We have weathered transitions and travels and daily life is exponentially sweeter because you are in it.

On March 18th, you were baptized. It was a day I will never forget.

You were completely surrounded by the love of family, friends, and most importantly, the love and grace that Jesus offers.

My hope for you is that there is never a day in your memory where you don’t know Jesus!

Your brother and sister delight in you. Reese is constantly curious about your whereabouts and feeding/sleeping habits. You are the talk of so much of our daily conversation. “Truett doin’?” is usually the first question I hear when she wakes from sleep.

When I look at you laying on my bed (where you get all your diaper and outfit changes) and kicking and belly gut laughing, I sorta fall apart inside. The emotion sits so close to the surface. You’re growing and changing FAST and I’m along for this beautiful ride.

You were screaming all loud and siren-esque this morning. You’re hitting that 4mo growth spurt and not shy about when it is nursing time. Your Dad grabbed you and held you for as long as he could before it was time to head out to work. In the middle of the chaos of scrambled eggs and greek yogurt with your older siblings, your Dad was eager to kiss your head, tell you he loved you, and hold you in his lap. You were content and happy as can be.

I wish I could save all these moments in my mind. Store them up and always be able to rewind back to the smell of your head, the softness & juiciness of your cheek, and the sounds of baby delight that pour from your mouth when I tickle your chest.

I love you, my boo-ski. You’ve forever changed me.

One response to “Dear Truett, {4 months old; child of the covenant}

  1. Post brought tears to my eyes! So beautifully written…the love you have for Jesus and your family is overflowing! Love you, girl!!!

Leave a Reply

