the best Banana Bread you’ll ever put in your mouth

Looking for a way to use those over-ripe bananas camping out in your fruit bowl?

Well, look no further than this faaaabulous recipe from my faaaabulous Mother….

Start with 3-4 ripe bananas…the mushier the better 🙂 You’ll smash the bananas up and then mix with 1 stick melted butter…

Then, you’ll toss in 1 egg, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 1 teaspoon salt, 1 cup sugar, and 1 1/2 cups flour (my sister Emily realized that the ultimate combination is 3/4 cups white flour and 3/4 cups whole wheat — it gives the bread a perfect denseness)….

(the cadbury mini-eggs made it in the photo because I personally believe they are the perfect mid-way treat as you’re combining ingredients)

…and last but not least, 4 Tablespoons sour cream…

Bake on 375deg for 45min-1hour.

Deeelicious!

Here is the recipe for those of you that prefer a hard copy:

(total bonus that it is written in my Mom’s handwriting :))

I’ve made it a habit to slice up a piece of this yumminess for breakfast with my cup of coffee, and this past Monday morning was no exception. The blueberrylunch boys were with me while their Mama checked in with her mid-wife (33 weeks!!) and Tee and Cather were more than willing to dive into some banana bread for a mid-morning snack. They requested hot tea and I stuck with my hazelnut coffee. It was the most breakfast fun you could possible have. They ate their bread with a fork, sipped tea from a real coffee mug, and chatted with me like grown ups.

I relished every bite.

6 responses to “the best Banana Bread you’ll ever put in your mouth

  1. Love this post! Pioneer Woman style. 🙂

  2. YUM…I must try it! I think I’ll go make it now (literally)…my mouth is watering! 🙂

  3. The boys are loving their “date with Sarah” every other monday…and with hot banana bread and tea, good conversation and sleeping 18 months old, I’d say it looks like the perfect morning 🙂 Should you tell them or I that when Attie comes, these dates may be more sporadic? Not it!

  4. It’s in my oven…I’ll report back! haha

  5. YUM!!!!

  6. I LOVE Catchie’s face in that last one. So pensive. So mature. Sweet blueberry boys. Off to use up some bananas…thanks Sarah!

Leave a Reply

