Dear Brooks and Reese, [17months old]

Happy 17 months, my babies!

Wait a second…17months…really? Babies?

Here, you are babies…(taken almost exactly one year ago)

…now you are my little ducklings.

You’re both walking, wait, make that running. We toddle here and there and your personalities are really starting to show up. It is fabulous. Fabulous!

Brooks Bruner, you changed on me last Thursday.

I think you found your boyhood. Overnight.

You move full speed. You tackle everything (including your sister).

You don’t appreciate being strapped down (carseat, stroller, shopping cart, etc).

You are feisty and spirited and 100% boy.

I love you and all your boy-ness. The most refreshing thing to me, is that in the midst of the action, you always find sweet. You are consistently hugging something or someone. You sit and read by yourself and laugh as you flip the pages. You always make eye contact with me.

You discovered a screwdriver this past weekend and you were elated. You and Papa assembled the Sit and Spin together and you were fascinated.

Your boy-ness is almost too much for me to handle!

Will you stop it with that adorable yellow belt? Ah! Too much!

Reesey…don’t think I’ve forgotten about you, baby….

You’re still totally into the Brown Bear scene and really growing in the vocab department (we’ve added “duck” and “puppy” to the “tee-cha” list)….

…and as for personality, you’re certainly not lacking an ounce.

You wake up bouncing and laughing in the morning. You’re always fine to let me retrieve the Brooks-man first. When it’s finally your turn and I scoop you up, you snuggle in. I won’t forget that snuggle — your neck is too warm so I just nuzzle in. Your laugh is unstoppable and you find humor when I least expect it. You’ve started laughing in the car a lot — unprovoked laughter — just because — and Brooks and I cannot seem to figure it out, but we join in for fun.

I see you learning each day and every hour you seem to comprehend more. It completely fascinates me.

Did I mention how much you love your Daddy?

Yeah, it’s a lot.

Today I was with a client for lunch and she inquired about you two. I went on and on about how much fun you were right now, and then I noticed her laughing under her breath. I inquired as to why, and she simply said that I’ve never mentioned an age/stage with you two that was not my favorite. We both laughed.

17months is my favorite, you guys…I’m serious this time.

After a few crazy nights during our stint with cold/flu symptoms, we’ve started rocking together a lot more. More rocking always means more singing.

This song has been at the top of our list. I just love these words.

Take my life and let it be consecrated, Lord, to Thee.
Take my moments and my days, let them flow in ceaseless praise.
Take my hands and let them move at the impulse of Thy love.
Take my feet and let them be swift and beautiful for Thee.

Take my voice and let me sing always, only for my King.
Take my lips and let them be filled with messages from Thee.
Take my silver and my gold not a mite would I withhold.
Take my intellect and use every power as You choose.

Take my will and make it Thine it shall be no longer mine.
Take my heart it is Thine own it shall be Thy royal throne.
Take my love, my Lord I pour at Your feet its treasure store
Take myself and I will be ever, only, all for Thee.
Take myself and I will be ever, only, all for Thee.

Your Daddy and I pray for you daily, Brooks and Reese. We pray that the words of this song will be your prayer and Jesus will reign as the Savior of your heart.

Thank you Jesus for these precious gifts!

7 responses to “Dear Brooks and Reese, [17months old]

  1. I love the Bruners!

  2. I love how you use the word nuzzle. The word has changed to nezzle in our family and is use to describe cuddling as my cousin and I do it quite a bit… Doesn’t sound quite as good when it’s in words but trust me, it is awesome to be a part of. Enjoy seeing the twins grow up on the computer screen and cant wait to see little Reese and Brooks soon.

    -Hannah’s Gordon

  3. What a fabulous post. You always make me look forward to the next stage as you present it with so much joy. We cannot wait to see you guys and see how much those 2 have changed!

  4. seriously?!?! Could they be any cuter?? great post….made me cry again! 🙂 ha.

  5. I love it! Maybe I am hormonal, but I was sitting reading while quickly eating lunch at work and ended up blubbering into my chicken salad. I love u guys!!!

  6. That first photo — first of all is adorable. Secondly, is it NOT a mini replica of Stephen and Sarah???????? They look identical to the 2 of you. How precious! How did they get so old?????

  7. So, there are a gazillion things I could say about this post, because I so love it, but if I could say one thing I would say keep singing and keep rocking because one day they will sing the song with you and it is another one of those favorite things you will never forget.

Leave a Reply

