only 123 hours away…

…from the Bruner Thanksgiving Feast!

This is a week that I anticipate all year — it is full of final menu prep, finishing touches on my flower arrangement plan, squealing with delight, hanging lights on the perfect branches in the backyard, and an oven that never rests.

The tradition began 6 years ago when Stephen and I could not travel home for the Thanksgiving Holidays and we decided to celebrate with our friends.  This idea partnered with a magnet on Delta’s refrigerator that read: “Friends are the Family we make for ourselves” and we were off and running…

Fast forward 6 years and the tradition lives on. The concept is simple — Stephen deep fries turkeys (best piece of turkey to ever touch your tongue) and a few close friends bring a famous family side dish to share. It is pot luck plus thanksgiving with a dash of brunertown. delicious.

So, I’m off to chirp around the house and accomplish tasks that get me a few minutes closer to Saturday evening…in the mean while, I just have to share these pics of my little Pilgram and Indian that were featured on the invitations this year…

DSCN7810

DSCN7833

DSCN7830

7 responses to “only 123 hours away…

  1. I can’t think of anything more precious.

  2. They are still just as cute as ever!! Hope the big event goes well!

  3. OH. MY. GOODNESS. that is SOOOO adorable!!!! what a cute idea…i am impressed!!! love it, sarah!

  4. that magnet is still on my fridge. it has survived 3 moves 🙂 what great memories. could you please just mail brooks and reese to me for a few days?! 😉

  5. rachelspencersmith

    Precious!! I love it – I hope this is a wonderful Thanksgiving as your first as a family of 4!

  6. ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

    toooooooo cute!

  7. Oh my gosh Sarah – you are too much!! That is the cutest thing I’ve ever seen!

Leave a Reply

